Its a start!

After months of thinking about starting this blog and weeks of trying to find time to start my first project, I finally made it happen! IMG_2810

I’m not a professional artist, I haven’t even painted anything in the past 1 1/2 year so i’m a bit rusty but I have been wanting to paint for some time now so I finally did it. With spring right around the corner, I wanted to paint something colorful. I also wanted to attempt something a little abstract so here it is……

I painted on an 8 X 10 canvas with acrylics and tried to create some flower like texture. I wanted the dancers tutu to look like it was made out of hundreds of colorful flowers.  I also decided to create circles using a straw to help give structure to some of the flowers in the tutu.

IMG_2819

at the end, I added glitter to highlight some areas and add some sparkle to a painting that looks like it could be in a little girls room 🙂

I can only imagine how happy a child will be when the funds from the sale of this painting will provide him or her with fresh food and clean water.

Can’t say its my best work, but after such a long break from doing anything creative I’m just happy to be making a move in the right direction.

IMG_2829

IMG_2833

 

 

 

 

 

A dancer enjoying the flowers blooming in spring.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Any other artists out there inspired by spring? I would love to see some of your work.

2 thoughts on “Its a start!

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑